Damn Aliens!

Standard

You know that feeling you get when you wake up in the morning, the birds are chirping, the sun is shining, and you’re so refreshed from that full night sleep you got? Ohhh, it feels so, so, so good. For maybe 10 seconds. Until you gradually come to the realization of: I slept all night long?! I’m refreshed?! OH MY GOD! THE BABY!

All you moms, and probably a bunch of dads, know this feeling all too well. It’s usually embedded into your brain for weeks afterwards. The panic that boosts your anxiety so much that you make it to your baby’s room without ever stepping foot on the floor. Not to mention the 4,899 horrible scenarios that manage to jam into your mind of what could be wrong, all within the 0.3 seconds it takes you to fly into your baby’s room. My baby is still sleeping! Something MUST be terribly wrong.

Why is it so quiet?

He probably stopped breathing.

He’s probably blue.

Oh god. He’s dead.

Is he even in his bed?

Was my house robbed?

Did they kidnap my baby?

Did I really not hear him cry?

He jumped out of bed and fell down the stairs.

Oh god, please don’t be at the bottom of the stairs.

The cat finally ate him?

There really are monsters in the closet!

He joined a secret society of ninja’s and was recruited in the middle of the night…

No note? Jeez. Love you too.

Maybe he’s just downstairs with my husband safe and sound eating cheerios?

Nope too practical.

Aliens.

He was totally abducted.

Damn Aliens!

 

Those were some of the actual thoughts that went through my mind when I woke up at 7:15 Tuesday morning, alone, and realized he was not in bed with me. You see, I co-sleep with my son for the second half of the night and apparently he slept through the night, in his crib, for the first time Monday night.

sleepin

Either I get up multiple times throughout the night for feedings or I ruin my refreshed full nights sleep with absurd ideas of why he’s not awake followed by a heart attack. So, obviously it doesn’t matter if they sleep through the night or not, we’re always going to be sleep deprived anyway.

 

One response »

  1. This is very true. I hadn’t slept through the night for years when all my kids were little.
    I still worry; even though the only one left at home is 15 yrs old now.
    I do manage now to sleep through the night most times, but, I still worry. There are those times when I get up and find that my 15 yr old hasn’t gotten up yet to get ready for school. Only to find out that there is no school that day or she isn’t feeling well and is staying home. Still, the initial feeling of “OMG something isn’t right” will give you that same jolt of unexpected anxiety ridden stress. It’s a “Mother” thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

